Mount Etna Erupts

December 25, 2018

Producing content you read on this website takes a lot of time, effort, and hard work. If you value what we do here, please consider subscribing today.

An intense earthquake swarm started at the volcano at 07:50 UTC, with more than 130 earthquakes in the first three hours. The largest was M4.0 at 12:08 UTC, located on the NE side of the volcano at a depth of 2 km (1.2 miles).

The seismic activity was accompanied by a gradual increase in the degassing from the summit, initially with sporadic ash emissions emitted by the Bocca Nuova and the NE Crater which culminated at about 11:00 UTC with increased explosive activity and a continuous dense plume of dark ash.

According to the Toulouse VAAC, volcanic ash cloud is rising up to 5.5 km (18 000 feet) above sea level.

The Catania Airport was partially closed at 13:00 UTC (14:00 CET), following an emergency meeting held at 12:00 UTC. All incoming flights were diverted to other airports, while all parked aircraft were expected to departure if conditions allow. All travelers need to check the status of their flights by contacting individual airlines or Catania Airport website.

Read More

0 comment