There’s a little-known feature built into your iPhone that keeps a history of everywhere you’ve been – and how many times you’ve been there.
This “Significant Locations” list can be found in your settings, but it’s rather hard to find, whether purposeful or not.
Apple tracks and stores where you’ve been and how often (and when) you visit. But it gets even more detailed than that: Your iPhone compiles locations specific to a single address and tracks when you leave there and even how long it took to get there and by which mode of transportation.
According to Apple, the list is kept “to learn places that are significant to you.” And Apple isn’t alone in keeping track of this amount of location data – Google does it too, through a “Location History” list found in your Google account.
“This data is encrypted and stored only on your device and will not be shared without your consent,” Apple said on its website. “It is used to provide you with personalised services, such as predictive traffic routing, and to build better Photos Memories.”
But if you no longer want “Significant Locations” turned on, here’s how to turn off and delete the history from your iPhone:
First, head to your Settings app and locate the “Privacy” tab.